I Have No Bike Knowledge

Topics without replies are pruned every 365 days. Not moderated.

Moderator: Dux

Topic author
tough old man
Sergeant Commanding

I Have No Bike Knowledge

Post by tough old man »

Im thinking of getting a fat tire single speed to cruise the waterfront and farmers market to pick up the soccer moms and vegan chicks.

Any good reasonable recommendations?
"I am the author of my own misfortune, I don't need a ghost writer" - Ian Dury

"Legio mihi nomen est, quia multi sumus."

Fuzzy Dunlop

Re: I Have No Bike Knowledge

Post by Fuzzy Dunlop »

Seriously, if that's all you want to do just get one of those fatbike beach cruisers, they shouldn't be more than like 300 bucks.

If you want a bike that you might ride on trails, in the snow, or through thick sand you need to decide on tire clearance, I'd consider anything from 3.8 to 5 inches "fat". You may also want to look for flexible dropouts in case you want to add some gears later.

Start with Salsa Mukluk and Surly Wednesday (tho not sure it comes as an "ops", flexible dropout version. Maybe the Ice Cream Truck and Pugsley do though) on the fat end, Salsa Blackborrow and Surly Moonlander on the fatter end.
Attachments
12357669_1539299099719033_591678690_n(1).jpg
12357669_1539299099719033_591678690_n(1).jpg (152.85 KiB) Viewed 10356 times
Ed Zachary wrote:Best meat rub ever is Jergen's.

Mickey O'neil
Lifetime IGer

Post by Mickey O'neil »

Yeah, it sounds like you just want a sweet cruiser. If that's the case, I'd check these out. http://www.electrabike.com/?field_marke ... _pricing=1

Fuzzy has some good suggestions as well.

If I were getting a cruiser I'd be all over this. http://www.bicyclebluebook.com/searchli ... x?id=18721

https://www.bing.com/images/search?q=el ... ORM=IQFRBA

Turdacious
Lifetime IGer
Location: Upon the eternal throne of the great Republic of Turdistan

Post by Turdacious »